My Hair Journey: Blue Edition

If you have know me well enough you will know one thing about me: I always color my hair. There is not a moment in my life where I feel truly satisfied with how my hair looks. Having it one color just isn’t my thing. So I tend to switch it up very often.

I have gotten tons and tons of questions about my blue hair that I will gladly answer today.

First off I want to give you the name of the place where I get it done:

hair5

If you ever do  get to go to this salon, ask for Mayra. She’s the best hair stylist and hair color expert there.

Here are some questions I collected from Instagram:

Q: I see that you had a copper tone before the blue… did you have to lighten it more before that?

A: Yes! I had to bleach my entire head! It was a pretty easy process, even my hair stylist was impressed. Get your hair bleached professionally please!

Q: How do you keep the color so vibrant and your hair healthy? Do you know any hair lighteners that remove fashion colors easily that don’t destroy your hair as much?

A: The best secret for keeping your hair vibrant is probably not to wash it as often as you would normally do! Dry shampoo is now your best friend!

My hair is so far from being healthy! However, it tends to look pretty healthy sometimes. That is because I use the Moroccanoil Intense Hydrating Mask.(https://beaudini.com/product/moroccanoil-intense-hydrating-mask-8_5oz-250ml?gclid=CPyBpaSUv80CFQiQaQodQ6sFeg)

It is a little pricey but worth it!.. Plus, it smells so good.

I have also heard of this brand: Overtone. It is meant to be a conditioner that you put on top of your fantasy color so it can always look freshly colored!

I’m afraid I’m not familiar with hair lighteners. I have never bleached or lightened my own hair before. I talked to Mayra, my hair stylist, and she mentioned that hair bleach sets that you find at Sally’s are actually really bad for your hair. They usually supply the highest concentrated bleach and sometimes, the buyers are not aware if the bleach they put on their hair is going to destroy it completely.

That is why I always encourage people to go to a professional! Bleach is not to fuck with.

Q: What color brand did you use?

A: I used the “Poseidon” color by Arctic Fox. (http://arcticfoxhaircolor.com/) It’s vegan and cruelty-free!

Q: How fast is the color fading?

A: This was probably my biggest fear from the beginning. How long will this color last? How often would I need to get it retouched. Here are some pictures that would help you answer that question:

hair.JPG

1 day after color application

As you can see, this is a true blue. Almost a navy blue, but not quite there yet.

hair2

11 days after color application

As you can see, a lot of the blue is still visible. It basically almost looks the same. The only thing that has changed are my roots. After a good time consuming shower, my roots lost the dark blue color and started to fade in to an aqua. Also, my shower was full with blue dye splats.

hair3

13 days after color application

WTF! That’s a huge difference isn’t it? I had washed my hair once again, and this is the hair color I got. It is loosing a lot of the true blue color and turning into an aqua color. I like it, but I don’t love it. My hair stylist told me it will turn green.

hair4

16 days after color application

I took this picture 2 days ago. So as you can see, my hair is still aqua. Not green yet!

Overall, I’m really happy with how my hair is fading. I would have thought of the fading part to be much quicker.

If you ever want to dye your hair a crazy color PLEASEEEEEEE don’t do it yourself. Unless, you are a professional.

I hope to be updating this blog as I accumulate more questions.

Hopefully I answered your questions and helped at least a little bit!

See you later,

Youremynirvana

Leave a Reply

